The best goal scorer, Owen Munzhelele of Young Stars, displays his award while the sponsor, Mr Lindelani Muthelo, looks on. Photo: Frank Mavhungu.

Mahangala Young Stars lift the TGM trophy


Mahangala Young Stars have reason to celebrate as they were crowned champions of the TGM Youth Soccer Tournament at Mushiru Grounds last Sunday. Young Stars defeated Lukalo Hotspurs 7-6 in the final, with the winner determined by a penalty shootout after the scoreboard remained blank at the end of regulation time.

Young Stars were presented with R3,500, a floating trophy, gold medals, and two soccer balls during a ceremony at the grounds shortly after the final whistle. Their journey to the final was challenging; they first beat Tshaulu Powerline 2-1 in the quarter-final match the previous day. In the semi-final, they faced TGM FC and won 3-2 in another penalty shootout, following a goalless draw at the end of regulation time.

Lukalo Hotspurs, who finished second, received R1,500, silver medals, and two soccer balls. Hotspurs beat Begwa United Brothers 2-1 in their opening match on Saturday and secured an unexpected 1-0 victory against Matsika Shooting Stars in their semi-final on Sunday morning.

The third-placed team, TGM FC, was awarded R1,000, bronze medals, and two soccer balls. Teams finishing fourth to eighth - Matsika Shooting Stars, Lambani Bayern, Begwa United Brothers, Tshaulu Powerline, and Gaba Union Fighters - each received a consolation prize of R500.

Pedro Jangi from Lukalo Hotspurs was named the tournament's best player. The best goalkeeper’s award went to Thakhani Nemutudi from Mahangala Young Stars. Owen Munzhelele, captain of Young Stars, scored the most spectacular goal of the tournament. Each individual award winner received a trophy.

The tournament featured eight teams from Tshaulu and surrounding areas.



Date:21 June 2024

By: Frank Mavhungu

Frank is a Human Resources Manager at the Department of Public Works in Limpopo. He is the longest serving correspondent of the Mirror, having joined us at the end of 1990.  He mainly writes sports reports and resides at Tsianda Village. In 2004, Frank won the National Castle League Award, an award for the best reporter in the SAB league in South Africa.

Read: 2084







Recent Articles