Standing from left to right are Kgosi Rammupudu Boleu II (also deputy chairperson), the newly elected chairperson of the Limpopo House of Traditional Leaders, Hosi Pheni Ngove, MEC for Co-Operative Governance, Human Settlements and Traditional Affairs, Mr Basikopo Makamu, Kgosigadi Mmakgatje Masemola and Hosi Erick Chauke. Photo: Silas Nduvheni.

Hosi Ngove to lead Limpopo House of Traditional Leaders


Hosi Pheni Ngove will be leading the Limpopo House of Traditional Leaders in future. This comes after he was elected as the new chairperson during a sitting to reconstitute the sixth House of Traditional Leaders.

The sitting, held on Monday, 11 July, at the Thulamela Local Municipality’s chamber, was presided over by the MEC for Co-Operative Governance, Human Settlements & Traditional Affairs, Mr Basikopo Makamu.

Ngove succeeded Kgosi Malesela Solomon Dikgale, who led the house for two terms. MEC Makamu congratulated the newly elected leadership and assured them that, together, they would grow the Limpopo Province into a giant. “We have previously worked excellently with your predecessors, and in that tradition, we shall continue to make the most of all our individual responsibilities. The house affirms our dignity as a government rooted in traditional practice, pride and governance,” said MEC Makamu.

According to Makamu, the Limpopo House of Traditional Leaders’ main function is to advise the government and legislature on matters related to custom, tradition, and culture, including development initiatives that have an impact on rural communities.

Thirsty-six (36) representatives of local houses of traditional leaders, as elected by senior traditional leaders in five districts in the beginning of July this year, had gathered to elect their new executive committee.

Ngove was elected as chairperson during a secret ballot election, coordinated by the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC). Kgosi Boleu Rammpudu was elected as the new deputy chairperson, while Kgosikgadi Masemola and Hosi Erick Chauke were elected as members of the executive committee.

Additionally, Kgosi Dikgale, Hosi Ntsanwisi, and Thovhele Ratshibvumo II Rammbuda, were elected to represent the National House of Traditional Leaders and Khoi-San leaders.

Ngove said he was ready to lead the provincial house and assured everyone that the key mandate was to see that communities were developed, and making sure that the situation around unemployment under the youth and women improved. He said it was not about position, but about working for the people - especially marginalised rural communities.



Date:22 July 2022 - By: Silas Nduvheni

Silas Nduvheni

Read: 716






Recent Articles



Popular Articles