Kgoshi Malesela Dikgale.

Dikgale re-elected to lead House of Traditional Leaders


Kgoshi Malesela Dikgale was re-elected as the chairperson of the Limpopo House of Traditional Leaders during an event at the old Thohoyandou parliamentary buildings last Friday.

During the sitting, members of the house elected a committee that will lead for the next five years. The provincial executive consists of Dikgale, Hosi Cyprian Ngove (deputy chairperson) and Hosi Tinyiko Nwamitwa, Khosi Nndweleni Mashamba and Kgoshi Boleu Rammupundu.

Kgoshi Dikgale thanked the members of the house for having confidence in him as they re-elected him. “We are working well with the provincial government, and I hope we will strengthen our relationship for the next five years in office. We will first establish the traditional council as soon as we start working for this term in office,” said Dikgale.

According to him, the provincial house of traditional leaders is worried about the ongoing ritual killings, especially in the Vhembe region, and he urged the perpetrators to stop such practices.

The Limpopo House of Traditional Leaders was established in terms of the Limpopo Houses of Traditional Leaders Act, Act 5 of 2005. This Act provides that the lifespan of both local and provincial houses must be for a period of five years. The intention of establishing this institution is to advance the aspirations of traditional leadership in general. 

There are five local and one provincial house of traditional leaders in Limpopo. These houses have a total number of 63 members who are nominated and elected by kings, queens or senior traditional leaders in their respective districts.



To leave a comment you need to login / register first

Read: 1431

Date:21 August 2017 - By: Silas Nduvheni

Silas Nduvheni



You may also be interested in these:



Recent Articles

Popular Articles